Fantasy Mystery Romance Comics Non-Fiction

Cat Tales: Four Stories from the World of Jane Yellowrock

Tuesday, January 31, 2012

Cat Tales: Four Stories from the World of Jane Yellowrock (2011) Faith Hunter

These are (as the title suggests) four stories in Jane Yellowrock’s world.Three of the four stories feature Jane–the is Rick’s story of how he got his tats and came to work for the vampires.

The first story, “The Early Years” is very brief, just a peek at Jane leaving the orphanage where she was raised to set out on her own, and her (one presumes) discovery of Beast. It’s almost little more than a background sketch.

“Cat Tails” is the Rick story, and is moderately disturbing, mostly because the only character we know survives is Rick.

I very much liked the story “Kits” which tells how Jane and Molly became friends.

The finally story, “Blood, Fangs, and Going Furry,” takes place immediately after the events in Mercy Blade, as Rick has to deal with his infection by the weres.

All in all a nice collection. The first three stories could be read by anyone interested in dipping a toe into the Jane Yellowrock stories, but if you haven’t read the series, I’d recommend skipping the fourth story until you get caught up.
Rating: 8/10

Published by New American Library


No comments

Leave a Comment

XHTML: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

RSS feed Comments