J.A. Jance

Books: Mystery

J.P. Beaumont Mysteries: Until Proven Guilty (1985), Injustice for All (1986), Trial by Fury (1986), Taking the Fifth (1987), Improbable Cause (1988), A More Perfect Union (1988), Dismissed With Prejudice (1989), Minor in Possession (1990), Payment in Kind (1991), Without Due Process (1992), Failure to Appear (1993), Lying in Wait (1994) Name Withheld (1996), Breach of Duty (1999), Birds of Prey (2001), Partner in Crime (2002), Long Time Gone (2005), Justice Denied (2007), Fire and Ice (2009), Betrayal of Trust (2011), Ring in the Dead (2013), Second Watch (2013)

Joanna Brady Mysteries: Desert Heat (1993), Tombstone Courage (1994), Shoot Don't Shoot (1995), Dead to Rights (1996), Skeleton Canyon (1997), Rattlesnake Crossing (1998), Outlaw Mountain (1999), Devil's Claw (2000), Paradise Lost (2001),Partner in Crime (2002), Exit Wounds (2003), Dead Wrong (2006), Damage Control (2008), Fire and Ice (2009, Judgment Call (2012)

Joanna Brady becomes Arizona Sheriff after the death of her sheriff husband and her own investigation into his death.

Jance's other series features J.P. Beaumont, a Seattle homicide detective. I have loaned this series to my mother and my grandmother, and both loved them.