Janny Wurts


Cycle of Fire: Stormwarden (1984), Keeper of the Keys (1988), Shadowfane (1988), Master of White Storm

The Wars of Light and Shadow: Curse of Mistwraith (1993), Ships of Merior (1995), Warhost of Vastmark (1995)

The Empire Series (with Raymond E. Feist): Daughter of the Empire (1987), Servant of the Empire (1990), Mistress of the Empire (1992)

Anthologies: Highwaymen: Robbers and Rogues (1997), Under Cover of Darkness (2007)

The Empire series I loved, although I thought that the tidying up bits in the last couple pages where everything worked out just right were a bit much, Happy endings are nice, but they frequently strike my as unrealistic. This series definitely has an oriental flavor, although there is nothing Asian about it per se, so there is certainly nothing accurate about it, it is very interesting.



Highwaymen: Robbers and Rogues (1997) edited by Jennifer Roberson

Give a Man a Horse He Can Ride - Esther Friesner
Kid Binary and the Two-Big Gang - Michael A. Stackpole
The Moonlight Flit - Rosemary Edghill
The Bandido of Pozoseco - Kate Daniel
We Met Upon The Road - Jane Emerson
Where Angels Fear to Tread - Laura Anne Gilman
Diana's Foresters - Susan Shwartz
Fool's Gold - Doranna Durgin
Highwayscape with Gods - Lawrence Schimel
The Bishop's Coffer - Janny Wurts
The Abbot of Croxton - Melanie Rawn

Published by DAW

Grails: Quests of the Dawn (2004) edited by Richard Gilliam and Martin H. Greenberg

The Question Of The Grail by Jane Yolen
The Cup And The Cauldron by Mercedes Lackey
The Which Overfloweth by Andre Norton
Chalice Of Tears, Or I Didn't Want That Damm Grail Anyway by Marion Zimmer Bradley
The Feast And The Fisher King by Diana L. Paxon
The Gift Of Gilthaliad by Brad Strickland
Curse Of The Romany by Ilona Ouspenskaya
Dagda by James S. Dorr
The Sailor Who Sailed After The Sun by Gene Wolfe
Water by Lee Hoffman
What You See... by Alan Dean Foster
Storyville, Tennessee by Richard Gilliam
Somewhere In Her Dying Heart by Lisa Lepovetsky
Hell-Bent For Leather by Jeremiah E. Phipps
Atlantis by Orson Scott Card
Invisible Bars by Dean Wesley Smith
That Way Lies Camelot by Janny Wurts
Hitchiking Across An Ancient Sea by Kristine Kathryn Rusch
Visions by Lawrence Watt-Evans
The Awful Truth In Arthur's Barrow by Lionel Fenn
Reunion by Brian M. Thomsen
Quest Now by Margo Skinner
Chivalry by Neil Gaiman
Falling To The Edge Of The End Of The World by Bruce D. Arthurs
Greggie's Cup by Rick Wilber
The Grail Legend: An Afterword by Fritz Leiber

Under Cover of Darkness (2007) edited by Julie E. Czerneda and Jana Paniccia

“The Scoria” by Doranna Durgin
“The Gatherers’ Guild” by Larry Niven
“Kyri’s Gauntlet” by Darwin A. Garrison
“Falling Like the Gentle Rain” by Nick Pollotta
“The Things Everyone Knows” by Tanya Huff
“The Invisible Order” by Paul Crilley
“Borrowed Time” by Stephen Kotowych
“Shadow of the Scimitar” by Janet Deaver-Pack
“The Good Samaritan” by Amanda Bloss Maloney
“Seeking the Master” by Esther M. Friesner
“When I Look to the Sky” by Russell Davis
“The Sundering Star” by Janny Wurts
“The Exile’s Path” by Jihane Noskateb
“The Dancer at the Red Door” by Douglas Smith

Published by Daw